The full list of postponements and cancellations is here.

Swim Ireland said in a statement: “This decision has not been taken lightly and follows the most recent decrees of both the Irish and UK governments.

“We felt that it was important at this time to reassure our athletes and all of those who work with and for them that there is no urgent need during these difficult times to be back in a swimming pool to prepare for a Regional or National competition.

“For those of our members, for whom the pinnacle of  your swimming season was to compete in their Regional Championships, the Irish Open Championships, Irish Summer National Championships or the Irish National Division 2 Competition, we understand that this news is likely to be disappointing. However, we were concerned that there might be a level of stress and anxiety related to competitions still on the horizon whilst the opportunity to train in the pool was not available and we felt that it was important to give you clarity on the matter to allow any such worries to end.”

Swim Ireland’s strongest possible advice for all swimmers, including those who were training for the Olympic Games and those in their National Centres, is to stop all pool-based sessions and sessions in facilities such as gyms and sports halls until further notice.

This advice includes those who were training for Olympic Games and, including the athletes in their National Centres and the governing body has urged its swimmers to cease training with immediate effect.

They say this directive will be reviewed on a regular basis.

John Kenny | RTE