Skip to content

Competitors from 11 countries to take part in World Para Swimming World Series in Berlin

by ZwemZa on October 15th, 2020

Rio 2016 Paralympic champion Arnost Petracek will represent Czech Republic at the World Para Swimming World Series event in Berlin ©Getty Images

Competitors from 11 countries are set to take part in the World Para Swimming World Series event in Berlin which starts tomorrow.

After the World Series was severely impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, the German capital is due to host the second and final leg of the competition.

It was originally scheduled for June but postponed as a result of the global health crisis.

Action will be held with strict protocols in place at the Schwimm-und Sprunghalle in the Europasportpark (SSE), considered one of the fastest competition pools in the world.

The competition field is depleted due to travel restrictions, but 11 countries will be represented.

The hosts will be led by the three reigning world champions – Elena Krawzow in the women’s 100 metre breaststroke SB12, Taliso Engel in the men’s 100m breaststroke SB13 and Verena Schott in the women’s 100m backstroke S6.

Spain travelled with a 19-strong team, including world gold medallists Jacobo Garrido, Nuria Marques and Teresa Perales.

“Berlin is an event that I have always enjoyed,” Marques said.

“Let’s see how it goes this time, as it is going to be different than we are used to.

“We are all looking forward to competing again, as next season will be really important.”

Rio 2016 Paralympic champion Arnost Petracek is Czech Republic’s sole representative in Berlin, with swimmers from Brazil, Egypt, France, Slovakia and Switzerland also set to be in the water.

Competition is scheduled to run until Sunday (October 18).

Melbourne in Australia hosted the opening World Series leg in 2020 in February before the season was suspended following the COVID-19 outbreak.

Events in Italy, Brazil, Britain, the United States and Singapore were all cancelled.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: XHTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: