Skip to content

South African swimming teams heads for Gaborone, Botswana for the CANA Zone IV Swimming Championships

by ZwemZa on February 14th, 2020

The Confederation Africaine De Natation Amateur (CANA) Zone IV Swimming Championships will kick off in Gaborone, Botswana from 20th to 23rd February 2020 and will feature some of the continent’s top talent.

The South African team topped the overall medal table at last year’s event in Namibia, with a total of 102 medals and will be looking to retain that title as a strong contingent of 29 athletes head for the capital city.

Among the twelve Zone IV countries participating (Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe), the competition will also include swimmers from Uganda and Tanzania.

The Championships will start on Thursday, 20th February 2020 at the University of Botswana’s 50m swimming pool with the heats beginning at 09h00, while the finals will take place from 14h00, daily.

Full SA Team List:


  • Nihaal Ahmed (13)
  • Kaeli-Peace Armour (13)
  • Ingrid Banza (14)
  • Emma Beyers (14)
  • Tiara Finnis (14)
  • Teagan Jose (16)
  • Christine Mbite (16)
  • Kate Moore (14)
  • Clio Smidt (13)
  • Abigail Swanepoel (16)
  • Layla Vahed (16)
  • Danica van Jaarsveld (16)
  • Alexia Young (16)


  • Xavier Beukes (16)
  • Jeanre Catillaz (16)
  • Gabriel Correia (16)
  • Darshan Devan (14)
  • Beurick Kayser (15)
  • Yande Kgomogadio (13)
  • Pierce Kotze (14)
  • Ramon Landmann (16)
  • Junior Pheeha (14)
  • Breydon Remley (16)
  • Fabio Santos (16)
  • Clayton Thompson (14)
  • Wietske vd Westhuizen (16)
  • Dewie Verster (16)
  • Leson Visagie (14)


  • Ronald Wallace (78)

Supplied by Swimming South Africa

From → African News

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: XHTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: