Skip to content

Du Toit nominated for Laureus Sporting Moment of the last 20 years

by ZwemZa on January 11th, 2020

Natalie du Toit of South Africa celebrates after winning gold in the Women’s 400m Freestyle – S9 final on day 6 of the London 2012 Paralympic Games at Aquatics Centre on September 4, 2012 in London, England.
(Sept. 3, 2012 – Source: Clive Rose/Getty Images Europe)

Former Paralympic medallist Natalie du Toit has been nominated for the Laureus Sporting Moment of the last 20 years.

This year’s Laureus World Sports Awards will celebrate 20 years of the prestigious accolades being awarded to sports stars.

In honour of its anniversary, Laureus has narrowed down 20 of the best sporting moments over the past 20 years.

“The Laureus Sporting Moment Award celebrates moments where sport has unified people in the most extraordinary way, demonstrating how sport has the power to change the world,” Laureus stated on their website.

In 2001, Du Toit was severely injured in a car crash, where she was forced to have her left leg amputated at the knee.

Three months after the accident, she returned to the pool determined to compete in the 2002 Commonwealth Games.

Against all odds, Du Toit stunned to win two golds at the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester.

Du Toit made history by becoming the first female amputee swimmer ever to qualify for the able-bodied Olympics in Beijing in 2008.

Du Toit, who retired after the 2012 London Olympic and Paralympic Games, has an impressive Paralympic record, winning 13 golds and 2 silvers.

There will be three knock-out rounds, with the Top 20 moments whittled down to 10 then five, with the Top 5 going head-to-head with the winner being revealed at the Laureus Awards in Berlin on February 17.

Fans can vote online on the Laureus website from January 10-February 16.

Laureus’ Sporting Moments over 20 years:

Matthias Steiner (Austria)

Natalie du Toit (South Africa)

Sachin Tendulkar (India)

Chapecoense football team

Miroslav Klose (Germany)

Cathy Freeman (Australia)

Barcelona’s under-12 football team

Elizabeth Marks (United States of America)

Refugee Olympic Team

Alistair Brownlee and Jonny Brownlee (England)

Japan national football team

Nick Butter (England)

Venus Williams (United States of America)

Bethany Hamilton (United States of America)

Michael and Mick Schumacher (Germany)

Brett Lee (Australia) and Andrew Flintoff (England)

Alex Zanardi (Italy)

Sky Brown (England)

J.J. Watt (United States of America)

Xia Boyu (China)

Compiled by Lynn Butler

From → African News

  1. Deirdre permalink

    Would love to see Natalie du tout win this

  2. Deirdre permalink

    And Natalie du toit is a Laureus ambassador

  3. Leonie Doering permalink

    What a legend. Let’s vote for Natalie who is an inspiration to so many young and old alike!!

  4. Veronica permalink

    Would love to see Natalie win this

  5. Annette permalink

    May Natalie win

  6. Rita Trewick permalink

    Would love to see Natalie du Toit win this

Leave a Reply

Note: XHTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: