Skip to content

Day 6, World Women’s Junior Water Polo Championship: Netherlands-Russia gold-medal final

by ZwemZa on September 15th, 2019

Russia will defend its crown against Netherlands in Sunday’s FINA World Women’s Junior Water Polo Championship at the Olympic Swimming Complex in Funchal (POR).

The champion of the previous edition of the tournament, held in Greece in 2017, will play the final game of the event againts Netherlands. The Dutch team captured bronze two years ago in Volos and wants to earn gold medal in the capital city of Portugal’s island of Madeira.

In the first semifinal, Netherlands beat Italy 11-8.

In the second semifinal, Russia gave no option to Greece (16-9).

Italy will play Greece in Sunday’s bronze-medal match.

In the round 5-8 semifinals, United States beat China 16-10 and Spain defeated Hungary 13-8.

United States and Spain will play for fifth position and China and Hungary will go for seventh ranking.

In classification matches, Australia beat Canada 14-5 for ninth position and Brazil defeated South Africa 13-12 in penalty shootout for 11th position.

Saturday schedule

Classification 11-12

Match 39, 10:00, BRAZIL 13 SOUTH AFRICA 12 in penalty shootout (FT: 9-9. Pens: 4-3)

Classification 9-10

Match 40, 11:20, CANADA 5 AUSTRALIA 14

Classification 5-8 semifinals

Match 41, 12:40, UNITED STATES 16 CHINA 10

Match 42, 17:20, HUNGARY 8 SPAIN 13


Match 43, 18:40, ITALY 8 NETHERLANDS 11

Match 44, 20:00, RUSSIA 16 GREECE 9

Sunday schedule

Classification 7-8

Match 45, 16:00, CHINA v HUNGARY

Classification 5-6

Match 46, 17:20, UNITED STATES v SPAIN

Classification 3-4

Match 47, 18:40, ITALY v GREECE

Classification 1-2

Match 48, 20:00, NETHERLANDS v RUSSIA

Match 39, 10:00, BRAZIL 13 SOUTH AFRICA 12 in penalty shootout (FT: 9-9. Pens: 4-3)

Quarters: 1-2, 3-3, 1-1, 4-3

Referees: Damir Temyrkhanov (KAZ) and Fiona Sharyn Haigh (AUS)


BRAZIL: Thatiana Pregolini, Ana Quesada, Alissa Pinciroli (1), Giovana Silva (1), Ana Amaral, Ana Dias (2+1), Kemily Leao (1+1), Luana Quinn, Leticia Belorio (2+1), Ana Alice Amaral (1), Mylla Pereira (2), Jennifer Cavalcante, Isabela Souza. Head Coach: Ricardo Crivella.

SOUTH AFRICA: Daniella Passoni, Paige Tancrel (1+1), Jennifer Everett (2), Boati Motau (1+1), Astrid Faustmann, Hanna Muller, Shakira January, Kate Hinrichs (1), Hanna Weppelman (1), Jordan Wedderburn (1), Chloe Meecham (1+1), Lucy Miszewski (1), Zanne Smit. Head Coach: Delaine Mentoor

Brazil defeated South Africa 13-12 in penalty shootout for 11th position after drawing 9-9 at the final buzzer. Brazil’s Ana Dias tied the game with only 23 seconds to play. In penalty shootout, Brazil missed one attempt and South Africa two so the South American squad finished in the eleventh place in Funchal.

Lucia Santiago, FINA Press Correspondent from Portugal


From → Aquatic News

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: XHTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: