Skip to content

Strong South African contingent heading for CANA Zone IV in Namibia

by ZwemZa on February 6th, 2019

A strong contingent of athletes will be representing South Africa at the Confederation Africaine De Natation Amateur (CANA) Zone IV Junior Championships in Windhoek, Namibia from 16th to 20th February 2019. 

The competition will feature some of South Africa’s best young talent in the Water Polo, Open Water and Swimming disciplines.

The SA swimming team finished second behind Zambia at last year’s edition in Malawi where they returned with a total of 55 medals — 22 gold, 20 silver and 13 bronze.

South African team captain’s Dante’ Nortje and Abi Meder with the Overall Team Winners Trophy of the 1st CANA Zone IV Junior Open Water Swimming Championships in December 2017 – Facebook

The Open Water races will be held over the 3km and 5km distances as well as a 4 x 1.25km Mixed Relay, featuring some of the country’s medallists from the inaugural 2017 CANA Zone IV Junior Open Water Swimming Championships held in Mauritius in December 2017 where the South African’s dominated.

Swimming SA CEO, Shaun Adriaanse stressed the importance of the country’s young athletes gaining valuable experience at the regional competition.

“The CANA Zone IV Junior Swimming Championships does not only allow our rising stars to test themselves against top competition but it also fosters a sense of solidarity with our regional neighbours,” Adriaanse said.

The South African squad:

Swimming team:


13/14 years:

Candice Clifton-Smith, Ruby Dixon, Kelly Ann Brown, Lise Coetzee.

15/16 years: 

Kelsea Munro, Lwethu Mbatha, Megan Shepherd, Ashton Volkwyn, Omolemo Makombe.


13/14 years: 

Awande Nkuzi, Kian Keylock, Leshen Pillay, Ozzy Aromin.

15/16 years: 

Ian Brijlal, Felix Maseko, Jivall Bodlall, Jakobus Terblanche, Cameron Casali.

17 and over: 

Hlalele Chaane, Clayton Malaza.

Open Water swimming team: 

12 – 13 years – 3km:

Marne Campbell, Tiara Finis, Connor Jay , Matthew Tucker.

14 – 15 years – 3km:

Teegan Pio, Robyn Hough, Patrick Hepke, Christian Apples.

14–15years -5km & 3km:

Catherine van Rensburg, Leigh McMorran, Alex Wehmeyer, Dennis de Villiers, Connor Albertyn

16-18 years 5km & 3km:

Stephanie Houtman, Tasneem Ibrahim, Muhammed Adam, Zac Ellis, Flippie van der Spuy, Refiloe Mashao.

Target squad 3km:

David Leukes, Leshen Pillay, Xavier Beukes, Muhammed N Adam.

Water Polo teams:

U-15 Boys team:

Andrew Botha, Andrew Good, Casper Mlaba, Christo van Loggerenberg, Duran Hall, Jaytee Abrahams, Joshua Medcalf, Lonwabo Mfikili (GK), Luka Rajak, Nicholas Steinhagen, Ross van Breda, Tigran Sennett, Zachary Porthen.

U-16 Boys team:

Alexander Thomas (GK), Braden Delomoney, Brandon Delport, Chad Uys, Declan Hutton (GK), Jack Awylward, Jordan Harrod, Keagon Mnyaka, Kyle Cohead, Liam Gordon, Manqoba Bungane, Mudathir Solomon, Sebastian Riley-Neilson.

U-15 Girls team:

Caitlin Stott, Esihle Zondo, Hayley Hansen, Iman Akomolafe, Jenna van den Bosch, Jo Williams, Josie Apps, Julienne Barnard (GK), Keirah van der Loosdrecht, Lauren Williams, Olufunke Gando (GK), Rebecca Currie, Sophie Hanssen.

U-16 Girls team:

Abigail Milella, Almaas Bailey, Bianca Kennerley, Georgina Bester, Gia Allasio, Jordan Laguma (GK), Kerry-Anne Lentz, Kristin Hatley, Leah Goodman, Mia Baxter-Eliot, Oluchi McMurray (GK), Paige Black, Tara Hastings, Zahraa Bodiat.

Supplied by SSA edited by ZwemZa

From → African News

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: XHTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: