Skip to content

U.S. Olympians continue to shine at TYR Pro Swim Series at Columbus

by ZwemZa on July 8th, 2018

Leah Smith (USA Swimming)

Team USA Olympic medalists Leah Smith (Pittsburgh, Pa./Tucson Ford Dealers Aquatics), Chase Kalisz (Bel Air, Md./Athens Bulldog Swim Club) and Blake Pieroni (Valparaiso, Ind./Mission Viejo Nadadores) each picked up their second wins of the TYR Pro Swim Series at Columbus on Saturday at Ohio State’s McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

After taking the 400m free on Friday, Smith won the women’s 400m individual medley in 4 minutes, 37.64 seconds, good for No. 8 in the world this season. She followed with a third-place finish in the women’s 200m free in 1:57.41 later in the session.

“This season I really wanted to practice more doubles, so I’ve had the 400 IM and 200 free a couple of times and the 800 free and 200 fly,” said Smith, who feels the doubles will help her on the international stage. “It’s definitely been really challenging, but I was really happy with both my swims tonight.”

Kalisz, winner of last night’s 200m breast, completed a sweep of the 400m IM over the course of the 2018 TYR Pro Swim Series with his sixth straight victory in the event in 4:15.16.

Pieroni claimed the men’s 200m free in 1:48.08 for his second win after touching first in the 100m free on Friday. Siobhan Haughey of Hong Kong did the same after winning the women’s 200m free in 1:57.20.

The action in Columbus concludes Sunday with 10 a.m. EDT prelims followed by finals at 6:30 p.m. EDT live on NBC Sports Network.

Michael Andrew (Lawrence, Kan./Race Pace Club) also won for the second straight night, touching in 21.70 to take the men’s 50m free title after winning the 100m fly on Thursday. His 21.69 prelim swim was good for No. 6 in the 2018 world rankings.

Ohio native Margo Geer (Milford Center, Ohio/Mission Viejo Nadadores) claimed the women’s 50m free in 24.82, while Asia Seidt (Louisville, Ky./Kentucky Aquatics) took the women’s 200m back in a personal-best 2:08.91. Japanese Olympic medalist Ryosuke Irie won the men’s 200m back in 1:55.51.

USA Swimming



No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: XHTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: