Skip to content

Budapest 2017: Preview Day 3

by ZwemZa on July 16th, 2017

Open water swimming – 10km Women

·    Aurélie Muller (FRA) could win back-to-back world titles in the women’s 10km. The only athlete to have achieved back-to-back wins in this event was Larissa Ilchenko (RUS) who won three in a row in 2006, 2007, 2008.

·    Sharon van Rouwendaal (NED) could become the first Olympic champion in the women’s 10km to claim a medal in the same event at the World Championships after having won Olympic gold. Van Rouwendaal took silver at the World Championships in 2015.

·    Angela Maurer (GER) has won three medals in the women’s 10km and she could equal Edith van Dijk (NED, 4) on a record four medals in this event.

For more click here.

Synchro swimming – Duet Technical

·    Svetlana Kolesnichenko (RUS) won the solo technical on Saturday and she can win her 14th gold medal in synchro swimming at the World Championships, equalling Anastasia Davydova on third-most. Only Svetlana Romashina (RUS, 22) and Natalia Ishchenko (RUS, 20) have won more gold medals.

·    Ona Carbonell (ESP) can equal Romashina and Ishchenko on a record 22 total medals in synchro swimming at the World Championships.

For more click here.

Diving – 1m Springboard Men

·    Michael Hixon (USA) is the only finalist in the men’s 1m Springboard to have won a medal in this event at the World Championships – bronze in 2015.

·    Chinese divers have won eight of the 11 world titles in the men’s 1m springboard at the World Championships, including the last five editions.

For more click here.

Diving – 10 Platform Synchro Women

·    Eight of the nine world titles in the women’s 10m platform synchro have been won by China, with the exception of the inaugural edition of this event, in Perth in 1998.

·    Meaghan Benfeito (CAN) could become only the second diver with at least four medals in this event, after Chen Ruolin (CHN, G5).

·    Australian divers have collected four medals in the women’s 10m platform synchro (S4), second-most of all countries after China (9).

For more click here.

Water Polo – Women

·   All seven countries that won the world title in women’s water polo will be present in the tournament in Budapest – United States (4), Hungary (2), Italy (2), Australia (1), Greece (1), Netherlands (1), Spain (1).

·    United States will defend their title. USA (2007, 2009) are already one of only two countries (Italy 1998, 2001) that have retained their world title in this competition.

·    USA have won every major competition since the 2013 World Championship, when Spain won. Since then USA won the Olympic Games (2016), World Championship (2015), World League (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017) and the Pan American Games (2015) .



No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: XHTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: