Skip to content

South African team to Kazan announced

by ZwemZa on June 3rd, 2015
Cameron Van Der Burgh . (Fabrice Coffrini)

Cameron Van Der Burgh . (Fabrice Coffrini)

The squad to represent South African at the forthcoming FINA World Swimming Championships in Kazan, Russia during July / August was announced on Wednesday.

The selection criteria that was prescribed before the recent South African National Aquatic Championships that took place at the Kings Park Aquatic Complex in Durban, Kwa Zulu Natal in April has been adhered to and as a result there are no surprises in the squad announcement. This will be a partially funded tour and as a result athletes will be liable for a portion of their costs.

The swimming squad that has been announced contains all the athletes that achieved the stringent qualifying times and are Myles Brown (KZN), Olympic Champion and world record holder Chad le Clos (KZN), Sebastian Rousseau (KZN), Ayrton Sweeny (KZN) and Olympic Champion Cameron van der Burgh (NTS). The squad will be managed by Western Province stalwart Cedric Finch, while SSA National Coach Graham Hill is the nominated coach.

Chad Ho

Chad Ho

The open water swimming squad is headed up by 2012 FINA World Cup series winner Chad Ho (KZN) and the much improved Danie Marais (KZN) who will both participate in both the 5km and 10km events. Nicolas Manoussakis (CGA) will participate in the 25km event. Former FINA Youth World Champion Michelle Weber (KZN) heads up the woman’s team where she will tackle both the 10km and 5km events, while the talented le Roux sisters from KZN, Carman (10km) and Clarice (5km) will line up along Webber to complete the South African woman’s challenge. Finch will also manage this squad as well while the traveling coach is the evergreen KZN stalwart Alisdair Hatfield.

The diving squad is dominated by athletes from Central Gauteng Aquatics and the quartet of Nicole Gillis, Julia Vincent, Jaimee Gundry and Micaela Bouter will line up to take on the world in Kazan. The diving squad will be managed by Linda Liebenberg while the experienced Dominque Philippopoulos is their coach.

In a surprisingly welcome move Swimming South Africa has seen fit to send a synchronized swimming team to Kazan. The team which should relish the opportunity to participate on the international stage comprises of two athletes from Western Province and two from the Eastern Cape. The squad is Kerry-Beth Norden (EP), Emma Manners-Wood (WP), Laura Strugnell (WP) and Courtney Musson (WP). The team will be managed by Moria Norden (WP) while Sue Manners-Wood is the coach.

The full roster of the South African squad travelling to Kazan is :

  • Swimming : Devon Myles Brown (KZN), Chad le Clos (KZN), Sebastien Rousseau (KZN), Ayrton Sweeny (KZN), Cameron van der Burgh (NTS)
  • Team Staff : Cedric Finch (Manager/Coach), Graham Hill (Coach)
  • Open Water Swimming : Chad Ho (KZN), Daniel Marais (KZN), Nicolaos Manoussakis (CGA), Michelle Webber (KZN), Clarice le Roux (KZN), Carman le Rouz (KZN)
  • Team Staff : Cedric Finch (Manager/Coach), Alisdair Hatfield (Coach)
  • Diving : Nicole Gillis (CGA), Julia Vincent (CGA), Jaimee Gundry (CGA), MIcaela Bouter (CGA)
  • Team Staff : Linda Liebenburg (Manager), Dominque Philippopoulos (Coach)
  • Synchronised Swimming : Kerry-Beth Norden (EP), Emma Manners-Wood (WP), Laura Strugnell (WP), Courtney Musson (EP)
  • Team Staff : Moria Norden (manager / Coach), Sue Manners-Wood (Coach)




From → African News

  1. And nothing stated for waterpolo? Even after gold for the men’s and ladies teams at the EU 8 nations

  2. Owen Van Renen permalink

    Predictable. Leave all the up and coming youngsters out with the Olympic Games next year. Pathetic. I would also like to see the names of the contingent of those useless SSA officials followed on their greasy heels by the equally useless SASCOC. They will probably all fly first class. Yes I’m mad.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. SA Swim Team for World Champs has been announced | JBAY News

Leave a Reply

Note: XHTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: