Skip to content

California Wins 2015 Pac-12 Women’s Swimming and Diving Championship

by ZwemZa on March 1st, 2015
California (

California (

The fourth and final day of the Pac-12 Women’s Swimming and Men’s and Women’s Diving Championships at the Weyerhaeuser King Country Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash. concluded the way they started. It was a year of broken records, program milestones and multi-award winners that culminated with CALIFORNIA winning its fourth Pac-12 Championship in program history and the third in the last four years.

The Bears dominated continued to roll on the last night of the event, using day four to seal the deal and secure the title with a total of 1,629.5 points. Stanford took second (1,401). USC (1,109) finished in third place, followed by ARIZONA (954.5), UCLA (951.5), UTAH (652), which finished fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively, and ARIZONA STATE (610), WASHINGTON STATE (369.5) and OREGON STATE (286).

The night started off with the most grueling event of the meet, the 1,650-yard freestyle, which provided one of the noteworthy results of the night as California freshman Cierra Runge broke Janet Evan’s 25-year-old Pac-12 record after clocking in at 15:40.17. Oregon State’s Saman Harrison posted a 15:54.61 to take second while UCLA junior Katy Campbell took third with a time of 16:05.95.

In the 200-yard backstroke, Cal sophomore Missy Franklin held off teammates Elizabeth Pelton and Melanie Klaren as the Golden Bear trio finished 1-2-3 respectively. Franklin touched with a time of 1:49.94, followed by Pelton (1:50.27) and Klaren (1:52.55)

Next up was the 100-yard freestyle final and Stanford freshman Simone Manuel took first setting a Pac-12 record with a 46.70. Manuel’s teammate Lia Neal followed closely behind with a 47.16 and Cal’s Farida Osman took third at 47.96.

USC took first in the 200-yard breaststroke when Andrea Kropp propelled her way to a 2:08.51 finishing ahead of last year’s champion, Stanford’s Katie Olsen (2:09.36), and Stanford’s Sarah Haase (2:09.64).

By the time the 400-yard freestyle relay—the final event of the meet—rolled around, the Bears had the championship safely in their corner, but that didn’t stop the Cardinal from giving a great swim. The relay team of Lia Newal, Janet Hu, Ally Howe, and Simone Manuel finished first with a meet record 3:10.69. Cal (Kaylin Bing, Camille Cheng, Missy Franklin and Farida Osman) followed in second at 3:12.10 and USC (Katarzyna Wilk, Evan Swenson, Kendly Stewart and Chelsea Chenault) finished third at 3:14.24.

The men’s and women’s platform diving displayed the most spectacular dives of the weekend with some new and familiar names finding their way to the top of the podium. The men’s final featured some of the most decorated divers in Pac-12 history, including Olympic bronze medalist and this year’s one-meter and three-meter winner Kristian Ipsen (Stanford) and Arizona’s Raphael Quintero, the defending champion in the event. The day, and the week belonged to Ipsen who took first in the platform, completing his sweep of the men’s diving events. Ipsen scored a 434.05 followed by Quintero (403.50) and Colin Pollard (395.60).

The women’s platform final produced another multi-award winner at the meet as USC standout Haley Ishimatsu picked up her third-consecutive individual championship in the platform event. Ishimatsu won the platform by breaking a Pac-12 meet record to tally her fourth-career Pac-12 title with a score of 368.75, ahead of Stanford’s Lillian Hinrichs 324.30 and UCLA’s Annika Lenz (323.15).

At the conclusion of the night, the annual awards of Pac-12 Swimmer and Men’s and Women’s Divers of the Meet were awarded to three deserving recipients. Ipsen earned the Diver of the Meet award after three-podium finishes in three diving events this week, earning first in one-meter, first in the three-meter and first in the platform. Ishimatsu was named the women’s Diver of the Meet after qualifying for the finals in the one-meter and three-meter and winning the platform a. Swimmer of the Meet went to Runge, who an NCAA record in the 500 free, a Pac-12 record in the 1650 free and was apart of Cal’s American-record breaking relay team.

NCAA Championships are set for March 19-21 in Greensboro, N.C.

Final Results (PDF)


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: XHTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: