Skip to content

van der Burgh 3rd in World in 50 Breast at Durban

by ZwemZa on February 22nd, 2015
Cameron Van Der Burgh . (Fabrice Coffrini)

Cameron Van Der Burgh . (Fabrice Coffrini)

Cameron van der Burgh continued his strong performances at the South Africa Grand Prix in Durban with a smoking 50-meter breaststroke.  Meanwhile, busy 15-year-old Michael Andrew popped a world-class time in the 50 fly.

Van der Burgh moved to third in the world in the men’s 50-meter breast with a smoking 27.73 for the win.  That swim bettered his fourth-ranked best of 27.97 from prelims as he leapfrogged Hendrik Feldwehr (27.76) in the rankings.

Only Adam Peaty (26.88) and Damir Dugonjic (27.53) have been faster this year.

Giulio Zorzi claimed second in 28.28, off his seventh-ranked 28.14 from prelims yesterday, while Jarred Crous took third in 28.65.  15-year-old pro Michael Andrew took fourth in 28.82 after posting a personal best 28.64 in prelims.

Chad le Clos scratched the men’s 100-meter free after clocking a 50.08 in prelims due to a bout with the flu. That opened the door for Leith Shankland to win in 51.12.

Ricky Ellis picked up the men’s 100-meter back title in 56.25 with Andrew touching second in 56.86 after clocking a 56.44 during prelims.

Jarryd Baxter took home the men’s 400-meter IM crown in 4:32.69, while Ayrton Sweeney claimed the men’s 200-meter breast in 2:15.70.

Serbian Olympian Velimir Stjepanovic won the men’s 200-meter fly title in 2:01.25. He then doubled up with a 3:58.19 to win the men’s 400-meter free.

Andrew closed out the day with a 24.22 in the men’s 50-meter fly to better his 15th-ranked 24.32 from yesterday. He moved up to 12th in the world with that swim.  Nico Meyer (24.73) and Zorzi (24.94) also clocked 24-point swims.

In the women’s events, Caitlin Kat took home the women’s 800-meter freestyle title in 9:01.28.

Erin Gallagher raced her way to the women’s 200-meter free win in 2:03.19. Gallagher doubled up with a 26.67 to top the women’s 50-meter free.

Tatjana Schoenmaker won the women’s 100-meter breast in 1:11.19, while Hannah McLean-Leonard touched first in the women’s 100-meter fly with a 1:03.81.

Mariella Venter grabbed the women’s 50-meter back crown in 29.65, while Rene Warnes hit the wall in 2:19.99 to win the women’s 200-meter IM.

Martha Van Niekerk took home the women’s 200-meter back title in 2:16.03.

2015 South African Grand Prix Durban, Day Two – Results

Meanwhile, some concerns have been raised about the quality of the venue in Durban with the King’s Park pool roof allegedly springing a leak during the meet.

Swimming World Magazine

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: XHTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: